नद्या व भूसंरचना

The main rivers are Wardha and Painganga. Both of which flow along the boundary of the district. Each has various tributaries, which traverse its center.

The Wardha is also called the Vasishtha, and is said to have been created by a Rishi (sage) of that name. It is navigable in the rains up to Kosara in the north east corner of Kelapur taluka, where rocks form a barrier. About forty years ago a small steamer actually went up to Chinchmandal in the north of Wani taluka , but there is now no navigation. The bed of the Wardha is broad and deep, but the banks are sometimes overflowed in very large floods. There is a strong current in the rains but in the hot weather there is little water, and the river can be forded at numerous points. None of the other rivers are navigable. The Painganga has its parts a very rough course, and there is fine scenery upon it. Its general direction is almost due east, but it flows in a great curve to the north-west round the extremity of Pusad taluka. Below this change of direction it is called Banganga.

There is a waterfall near Murli village in Umarkhed taluka called Sahastrakund. It is said that Parashurama, son of Jamdagni, a Rishi, here made a course for the river by driving an arrow (ban) into the ground. The chief tributaries of the Wardha are the Bembala and the Nirguda. The Bembala flows across the north of Yavatmal taluka below the ghats(hill sides). Its total length is about 80 miles, but only the last 21 miles are within the District. It contains water all the year round but has little current in the hot weather. The road from Yavatmal to Dhamangaon crosses it by a bridge 1000 feet in length. The Nirguda is about 40 miles long. Its whole course is in Wani taluka and it passes close to Wani town. It contains water all the year round. The Painganga has six tributaries of same size. These are Pus, Arunavati, Adaan, Waghadi, Khuni, and Vidarbha. The Pus flows post Pusad town and right across Pusad taluka. Its total length is about 80 miles of which about 50 miles are within the District. The Arunavati and Adaan flows across Darwha taluka and a part of Kelapur taluka. The Arunavati is about 70 miles in length, and the Adaan about 130. They unite about eight miles from the Painganga. The Waghadi flows across parts of Yavatmal and Kelapur talukas, the Khuni across part of Kelapur taluka and the Vidarbha through the south of Wani taluka. Each of the three is under 50 miles in length. These rivers all contain water for the greater part of the year.

Land Reforms

Various landforms are seen in Yavatmal district. The different landforms in a region constitute its physical set-up. If we consider the physical set-up of Yavatmal district. We see that there are three physical divisions.

  • Hilly Region – South-West Yavatmal is a hilly region. The hills of Ajanta and Pusad are situated here. Pusad, Umarkhed and Mahagaon talukas and some parts of Digras and Arni occupies this region.

  • The Plateau Region – The Northen part of Yavatmal district is a plateau. It covers Darwha, Ner and Yavatmal taluka and some parts of Arni and Digras taluka.

  • The Plains - The region on the banks of the rivers Painganga, Wardha and their tributaries comprises of plain. This region includes the talukas Babhulgaon, Kalamb, Ralegaon, Maregaon, Wani, Kelapur, Zari Jamni and Ghatanji.